Old School Carnitas

Cooking in Sens

IMG_0904b

I have to say that I’ve been annoyed by the food that is called authentic Mexican today.  I grew up in California and my mom grew up with Mexicans.  However, she never thought much of Tex-Mex cuisine, even though she was born and raised in Texas.  Her Mexican food was the food of working class Mexicans; not fancy but plain, good tasting and filling, a cuisine that was based on both the availability and affordability of the ingredients; flour, corn, beans, cheap cuts of meat and of course herbs and spices.

IMG_0823b

I feel like beating myself up because in my youth I made Mexican food often and automatically, not needing a recipe, but following in my mother’s footsteps.  Unfortunately, mindsnatched by other cuisines, I made Mexican food and the foods of my childhood less often and have forgotten the way of making many things, obliged to go to my ancient…

View original post 261 more words

Leave a Reply

